Squad News

With less than 40 days before Athlone Town kick off their 2017 season against what will be a strong Waterford United side manager Colin Fortune speaking to local paper The Westmeath Independent has confirmed a number of signings. Both Niall Scullion and Ian Dempsey return to the club after a spell with St Peters FC while Ethan Keogh and Andy Nevin sign from Roscommon League side Moore United.

Val Feeney also makes a surprise return after being released by Limerick FC after a few seasons playing with the mid west side. Along with these signings David Brookes, Aidy Byrne, Jason Lyons, Danny Molloy, Joe Moloney, Sean McGrane, Jamie Quinn, Chris Reid and Claudio Silva who were all part of last seasons squad have put pen to paper for another season.

Other players from last season Conor Barry, Colm Coss and Cormac Raftery are also expected to sign in the coming weeks.